NBC Heads Up Poker Championship 2010

64 players took their seat yesterday at this year NCB heads up poker championship. One of the strongest line ups ever was seen and notable players like WSOP winners Joe Cade, Peter Eastgate, Joe Hachem, Jamie Gold, Jerry Yang, Greg Raymer and Chris Moneymaker showed up and showed their class by four of them advancing to round two except Greg Raymer who lost to Gus Hansen and WSOP 2010 champion Joe Cade who lost his first round match against David Williams as his AJ never improved against 77. The four remaining champions will play today and especially the match between Erick Lindgren and Peter Eastgate will be exiting to follow. The Danish 2008 WSOP winner will come out as the strong favorite in this match since his tournament results lately have been outstanding and he has also been playing a significant amount of heads up cash game hands the last many years against strong opposition.

Clubs bracket matches

Chris Moneymaker v. Leo Wolpert
David Williams v. Erik Seidel
Erick Lindgren v. Peter Eastgate
Stephen Quinn v. Jamie Gold

Another Danish player, Gus Hansen advanced to the second round in the Diamonds bracket and will face Paul Wasicka in the second round. Mr. Hansen have been running good on the high stakes tables at Full Tilt Poker this year and have won in the area of $2,000,000 so far in 2010. Gus Hansen is most likely not the opponent Wasicka fancied to face should he have had the choice but for sure this match will be yet another spectacular one to follow tonight.

Diamonds Bracket matches

Barry Greenstein v. Sam Farha
Jennifer Harman v. Jerry Yang
Darvin Moon v. Annie Duke
Paul Wasicka v. Gus Hansen

In the Spade bracket 4 really exiting matches will be played today.

Phil Ivey v. Scotty Nguyen
Joe Hachem v. Gabe Kaplan
Jason Mercier v. Pieter de Korver
Phil Gordon v. Phil Laak

Phil Laak coming from a good run in the Party Poker Premier League tournament definitely is one of the favorites to win this bracket, even super stars like Phil Ivey and Jason Mercier is still in the tournament.

Phil Hellmuth took out Howard Lederer in the first round as anticipated and will play the Norwegian and Betfair sponsored Annette Obrestad who won the first WSOPE championship and £1,000,000 ($2,000,000) back in 2007. This match could be great TV as the young female player definitely will know when to push her chips in the middle which easily could cause Phil Hellmuth some frustration. Anette for the win is our prediction in this match.

Allen Cunningham v. Eli Elezra
Chris Ferguson v. Dennis Phillips
Doyle Brunson v. Don Cheadle
Phil Hellmuth v. Annette Obrestad

Practice your own Heads Up poker skills tonight

All EU players can find a great HU tournament tonight Saturday March 6 at 19:30 GMT where Classic Poker host their ICOP 6 event a No Limit Texas Hold’Em Heads Up tournament with €20,000 guaranteed in the prize pool. The buy in is only €20+2 and a fairly huge overlay is anticipated since the tournament currently only has 80 players enrolled out of the 1000 needed.

Offer valid as of date published. T&Cs apply.