Poker Hall of Fame 2009

Every year one and only one poker player will become a member of the Poker Hall of Fame. This tradition was created by Benny Binion back in 1979 as a tourist attraction on the famous Horseshoe casino. After he sold the casino to Harrah’s Entertainment the Poker Hall of Fame does no longer have a physical location but can only be found in paper form.

Tom Dwan removed

Who is going to become the 2009 member of Poker Hall of Fame are soon to be decided. The nominees are finally found and surprisingly Tom “Durrrr” Dwan in the last minutes was removed from the list.

To be nominated for a place in the prestigious Poker Hall of Fame players need to full fill 5 requirements
• A player must have played poker against acknowledged top competition
• Played for high stakes
• Played consistently well, gaining the respect of peers
• Stood the test of time
• Or, for non-players, contributed to the overall growth and success of the game of poker, with indelible positive and lasting results

Tom Dwan did not pass the “Stood the test of time” and the PHOF Governing Council states “he does not currently meet the criteria for Hall of Fame selection”.

The final 8 nominees are: Mike Sexton, Dan Harrington, Phil Ivey, Tom McEvoy, Men “The Master” Nguyen, Daniel Negreanu, Barry Greenstein and Erik Seidel.

Phil Ivey

Our favorite who becomes the 2009 Poker Hall of Fame member is without doubt Phil Ivey of Full Tilt Poker. All of the aforementioned nominees deserve a place in Poker Hall of Fame but when it come to the “Played consistently well, gaining the respect of peers” Phil Ivey seems to be the one far ahead of the pack.

Phil Ivey should have a big advantage in being elected. Two WSOP bracelets in 2009 and on the WSOP Main Event final table to be played in November, are pretty much more consistently than any of his combatants’ for the title have achieved recently.

15 members of the media and the same amount of current members of Poker Hall of Fame will decide who the newest member of this exclusive club will be. Half the voters being from the Medias will certainly see most value in getting Phil Ivey elected. He is the big media news and on top of this he is also the best qualified amongst the 2009 candidates. The announcement of who has been elected this year will take place November 7th in Las Vegas.

Offer valid as of date published. T&Cs apply.